Can Peonies Open Without Ants?

What is wonder?

As a child I believed that the continents floated above the ocean, like gigantic earthy boats on the surface of the water. I thought that if you swam far enough out into the ocean, you would eventually arrive at a dramatic drop off where the continental plate ended and you could find the water beneath. More than that, I thought that with a lot of effort, I could be the first human to swim all the way underneath the USA from the east coast to the west coast.

I am older and wiser now. I know that the US is not just floating on water, ready to be swum under. I also know that the tectonic plates are on top of a liquid, just not one that humans can breaststroke through. There is still a magic and an insight to my original understanding, even if it was ultimately wrong.

My world didn’t change dramatically when I learned about the layers of Earth. I didn’t lose my child-like wonder in that moment. If anything, I just had new things to wonder about.

What does the area where it shifts from mantle to crust look like? Will we ever be able to dig down to the core? How do we know about all of these layers if we can’t dissect the earth the way it’s depicted in the graphics that show these layers?

The world is a never-ending stream of questions, of misunderstandings, and of corrections.

I grew up hearing the old wive’s tale that peonies require ants to open their flowers. Until yesterday, I didn’t realize that this was a wive’s tale; I had assumed that it was a scientific fact that peonies require ants to nibble away at their buds in order to bloom. I am constantly being proven wrong. I am constantly learning and growing.

Photo by Irina Iriser from Pexels

6 thoughts on “Can Peonies Open Without Ants?”

  1. Wonderful… at some point, we all learn about the scientific underpinning of life and somehow reality loses its luster of magic. But human mind is so imaginative, and that’s why we still pass down old wives tales and mythologies. Just to add color to a cold world, I guess. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I truly don’t think that learning the scientific reality of life makes it any less magical. Wonder may become different as understanding grows, but if it is tended to, it will always remain.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your perceptive makes me see more. Yeah, the continents would be afloat on the ocean because it sounds making sense. Great writes :)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment